CALLANISH by Steve Marsh

Guitar solo

This major work, composed in 1998, was written at the request of one of my former students, Gary Spolding and is dedicated to him.

It has four movements, lasts around ten minutes and was inspired by the standing stones on the Isle of Lewis.
Situated off the west coast of Scotland, the Isle of Lewis in the Outer Hebrides, is the home of the stone circle known as Calanais. This is made up of thirteen tall, slender stones with another stone in the middle of the circle (the tallest of them all at over fifteen feet in height). Inside the circle are the remains of a round cairn of a Neolithic type. In the same area are three other stone circles.

The four movements are named after each of these circles: Calanais; Cnoc Ceann aGharaigh; Cnoc Filibhir Bheag and Ceann Hulavig.

All Lathkill publications are now sold direct from Lathkill Music

Please visit the Lathkill site HERE to select your music and then click on "How to Purchase" or if you already know what you want you can go straight to the order form HERE

Please state title(s) of music required and whether ‘book’ or' ‘PDF.’

UK Postage and packaging for books is 10% of the total cost.

Overseas postage dependent on location.

Please include full postal address for delivery.

Purchases of PDF versions incur no postage costs, please include the email address the files are to be sent to.

Payment is either by cheque or Paypal to

Once we receive your order we will confirm the total and postage costs if applicable.

updated: 3 years ago